Paul Fournel – Clip from the interview

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREAs I already said in an earlier post, I had the great chance to interview several Oulipo writers for the project. I asked them about their relation with writing and the translations of their books, especially in English.

Here is the first clip from my interview of Paul Fournel, the président of the Oulipo. He discussed his novel, La liseuse, of which the English translation was published during my residency under the title Dear Reader. I was specially happy to have this English version, as it allowed me to put it in my corpus for the Translation Transcription, Oulipian Art from French to English project.

The clip is subtitled in English, thanks to Prof. Tim Mathews who did the translation.

Paul Fournel explained the constraints he chose for this book and commented on the work done by David Bellos, the translator.

 

I will be posting in the next months more clips from these great meetings.

Par défaut

Laisser un commentaire

