Ian Monk : Clip from the interview

Today I am posting a clip from my interview with Ian Monk, a British Oulipo writer and a translator.

I was especially happy that he accepted to come to my place after a long flight from Canada to talk about his practice, as it was a unique occasion to talk to a member of the Oulipo who actually writes in the two languages I was exploring for the project and who also is a translator of Oulipian texts from the French to the English.

As he explains here in a very tongue-in-cheek way, Ian initially wrote only in English but after many years living in France, he decided to start writing in French too. He even has a work in both languages now.

I was also very interested in his experience as a translator, which is quite unique. Ian is the translator of several fellow Oulipiens: Georges Perec, Jacques Roubaud and two writers I also interviewed for the project: Hervé Le Tellier and Frédéric Forte. He gives here his views on what the work of the translator is about and I chose a passage where he draws an engaging parallel between constraint and style.

Many Thank to my sister Dr. Mariana Saad for the french version of Ian Monk’s interview

Par défaut

Laisser un commentaire

